NASSAU COUNTY FOOTBALL COACHES ASSOCIATION GRIDIRON AWARDS

"The Bruce Gehrke Memorial Coach of the Year Award"

This award is presented by the NCHSFCA in memory of a man whose time, effort and dedication to the game has helped make Nassau County football what it is today. The recipient of this award is chosen by his peers. It is awarded to a man who has put forth the time and the effort to not only bring his team to great heights, but Nassau County football as well.

1995 - Howie Vogts 2011 - Erwin Dill

"The Jack Boyle Memorial Assistant Coach of the Year Award"

This award honors the outstanding assistant coach in Nassau County. It is named after Coach Jack Boyle for his fifty years of service to the coaching profession. Coach Boyle began his coaching tenure at St. Francis Prep in 1950 and moved to East Meadow, New York Tech, and Clarke High School. Although he was a head coach throughout most of his career his last position was as an assistant with his son John at Clarke. He truly realized the importance of his assistant coaches. This award gives the NCHSFCA an opportunity to recognize the fine achievements and contributions of the outstanding assistant coach.

2015 - Roddy McCoy

"Newsday Tom Thorp Memorial Award"

The player selected as the most outstanding in Nassau receives the Thorpe award, which is in memory of Tom Thorpe of Rockville Centre, a man whose life revolved around the game of football. Thorpe was an outstanding player at Manhattan and Columbia and New York University, and he achieved national recognition as a college football official. He was the first president of the Nassau County Football League and was actively involved in high school football until his death in 1942.

1968 - Dennis Macholz

"The Martone Award"

The Al Martone Award is presented to the most outstanding Lineman in Nassau County. The memorial trophy originated through the desire of three sons, who wished to confer an award in memory in memory of their father. The sons, all high school coaches for many years are Marc, Joseph and Charles Martone. Al was an unassuming individual whose greatest concern was for the betterment of his family. "God has been good to the Martone Boys," and they wish to share their experience of tremendous warm family relationship by the formal establishment of the Martone Award. This award is presented not only in the memory of Al, but as a living testimony for all concerned parents whose inspiration to their children makes the world a better place to live.

1989 - Matt Conway

"Jay Fiedler Award"

Nassau County's top football scholar-athlete as part of the "Golden 11" selected by the National Football Foundation and Nassau County football coaches.

2017 - Jason Seiter

"Roy Kessenich Memorial Award"

The Roy Kessenich Award is given to an outstanding student athlete who has earned a varsity letter in three sports, including football, while maintaining a minimum "C" average in his academic courses. This award originated in 1986 in honor and in memory of Roy Kessenich, former head football coach at Oceanside H.S., and member of the Section VIII Football Committee. Roy's keen sense of fairness and dedication to the existing power rating structure presently utilized in Section VIII football led to Roy's contribution, the Roy Kessenich point system, which is the major ingredient that makes this structure possible. Roy left a legacy which represents his high standards of excellence and dedication to high school athletics.

1994 - Troy Gorman

"Howie Vogts Memorial Award: Most Improved Team in Nassau"

The team selected as the most improved scholastic football team in Nassau County is awarded the Howie Vogts memorial award. The award is presented by the Nassau County Coaches Association in memory and honor of coach Howie Vogts for his many years of coaching and helping young people. Coach Howie Vogts is the winningest high school football coach in New York State.

2010 - Bethpage HS 2013 - Bethpage HS

"The Rutgers Cup"

The team selected as the most outstanding scholastic football team in Nassau County is awarded the Rutgers Football Cup. The award is presented by the Rutgers Club of Long Island, which originated this honor in 1937. The award is determined by a vote of the coaches of the teams in Nassau County.

1993 - Bethpage HS

1995 - Bethpage HS

2002 - Bethpage HS